Do Not Take A Repeat DUI Charge Lightly
First-time DUI arrests often lead to relatively light penalties — diversion programs, probation and/or fines. But Pennsylvania laws are much harsher when it comes to repeat DUI offenders. If you are facing your second, third or another type of repeat DUI charge, this is not the time to go to court without a lawyer. Having an experienced defense attorney at your side can truly make all the difference in the outcome of your case.
The law firm of Miele & Rymsza, P.C., aggressively defends clients in the northeastern and central Pennsylvania areas. We understand that there is so much at stake when it comes to a repeat DUI charge, including your freedom. Reaching out to a lawyer for the first time can be stressful on top of what you are already dealing with. That is why we encourage you to reach out to a firm like ours, which is led by a seasoned DUI defense counsel with a successful track record.
Potential Penalties For Repeat DUIs
Keep in mind that every DUI case is unique. A person’s past criminal record can impact a current charge. Here are general guidelines for penalties in Pennsylvania for repeat DUIs (within last 10 years of a person’s record):
- Second DUI offense can mean a mandatory minimum of five, 30 or 90 days in jail. The maximum penalty can be up to five years of jail time.
- Third DUI offense can result in a mandatory minimum of up to one year and a maximum penalty of up to five years of jail time.
- DUIs with aggravated circumstances (such as causing serious bodily harm or death) can mean a three-year mandatory minimum and up to 20 years of jail time.
These guidelines mention jail time potential. There are also other punishments to consider beyond incarceration, such as hefty fines, license suspensions and other collateral consequences. To understand what is at stake for your specific situation, make an appointment to talk to our firm’s lawyer.